Preliminary Agenda

22 September 2020

Welcome & Opening Keynote

Dubai 10:00 am, Paris 8:00 am, NYC 2:00 am – 30 minutes session

Speakers

H.E. Hussain Al Mahmoudi
CEO of Sharjah Research Technology and Innovation Park

Keynote speaker
To be confirmed

Panel. The shape of water: how we future proof our most important natural resource

Dubai 10:30 am, Paris 8:30 am, NYC 2:30 am – 1 hour session

How do we think about water? Our ability to innovate, and raise the standard of living for humanity as a collective, depends on our ability to address some of the world’s most fundamental challenges: access to clean water, sanitation, and climate change. In this panel, global water experts discuss how the future of water supply depends on technology and innovation

Zoom. Case study of Sharja’s desalination plant

Dubai 11:30 am, Paris 9:30 am, NYC 3:30 am – 15 minutes session

Sharjah Electricity and Water Authority will build a water desalination plant with a 60 million Imperial gallons per day (MIGD) capacity by 2022, as it looks to meet rising water demand in the Emirate, according to a senior official.

Keynote

Dubai 11:45am, Paris 9:45am, NYC 3:45am – 30 minutes session

 

Interview

Dubai 12:15pm, Paris 10:15am, NYC 4:15am – 15 minutes session

 

Panel. Surviving disruption: how to rethink transportation and get it off the ground

Dubai 12:30pm, Paris 10:30am, NYC 4:30am – 1 hour session

Modern transportation is currently experiencing major changes thanks to transformative transportation technologies.  In this panel, industry leaders discuss how the next era of transportation will be off the ground.

Zoom. SkyWay String Transport in SRTI Park

Dubai 1:30pm, Paris 11:30am, NYC 5:30am – 15 minutes session

SkyWay String Transport is designed to change forever the conception of speed, comfort and safety on the roads. These systems are superior to all the known types of ropeways and monorails, whereas they have all their advantages that allow to ride above the ground at speeds of up to 500 km/h.

Workshop

Dubai 1:45pm, Paris 11:45am, NYC 5:45am – 45 minutes session

Panel. A sustainable future or no future at all: how together industry sectors can save the planet

Dubai 2:30pm, Paris 12:30pm, NYC 6:30am – 1 hour session

It is understood that a cohesive work environment and cross-collaboration is the most effective path to innovation. Companies talk constantly about breaking down silos, building partnerships, and creating ecosystems. But what about across industries? To innovate for humanity, a holistic view that transcends borders and industries is required. In this panel, experts from government, industry, and nonprofits discuss what it means to have true inter-sector partnership, and how to do it well.

Zoom

Dubai 3:30pm, Paris 1:30pm, NYC 7:30am – 15 minutes session

Keynote

Dubai 3:45pm, Paris 1:45pm, NYC 7:45am – 30 minutes session

Ministerial panel

Dubai 4:15pm, Paris 2:15pm, NYC 8:15am – 1 hour session

Ministerial panel on sustainable development in 2020-2030. The role of innovation and technology transfer in the decade to come in order to achieve the UN’s SDG’s.

Zoom

Dubai 5:15pm, Paris 3:15pm, NYC 9:15am – 15 minutes session

Panel. Internet as a fundamental right: how to reduce the digital divide

Dubai 5:30pm, Paris 3:30pm, NYC 9:30am – 1 hour session

Disparity in our access to technology, and the internet, exists everywhere. Within countries and between countries, our ability to gain an education, employment, and information is crucial to our quality of life, but ultimately depends on where you live and your economic circumstances. In this panel, we discuss why equal access to the internet is key to the prosperity of generations to come, and what actions are being taken now to reduce the digital divide.

Start-up Competition

Dubai 6:30pm, Paris 4:30pm, NYC 10:30am – 30 minutes session

Discover the most talented start-ups in the world pitching to win a residency at the Sharjah Research Technology and Innovation Park.

Panel. Planting the seed: from a smart city to the living city

Dubai 7:00pm, Paris 5:00pm, NYC 11:00am – 1 hour session

Smart Cities represent a Utopian Paradise in 2020. A place where technology creates a seamless experience for the pleasure of a community. But smart cities are contentious, with questions around privacy, security, and the impact they have on the environment. So how do we make a smart city a liveable one? This panel of experts discuss how to take the best parts of technology and innovation, and build them into an ethical, sustainable space.

M.E.N.A. Innovation Technology Transfer Summit Awards

Dubai 8:00pm, Paris 6:00pm, NYC 12:00pm – 30 minutes session

The prestigious MITTS Awards will recognize and celebrate excellence and leadership in Innovation and Technology under 3 categories: MITTS Global Award, MENA’s Rising Star and Women in Tech MENA Award. Prizes include grants, accelerator programme and business residency at the Sharjah Research Technology and Innovation Park.

Tech Talk

Dubai 8:30pm, Paris 6:30pm, NYC 12:30am – 15 minutes session

Panel. Less is more: how minimalism is the key to achieving 2030 SDGs

Dubai 8:45pm, Paris 6:45pm, NYC 12:45am – 1 hour session

It’s difficult to visualize a happy future without first considering climate change and the need for sustainable solutions to current challenges. Over-consumption is a visible piece of the puzzle, requiring a global shift in how we produce and consume. In this panel, we’ll hear leaders in environmental innovation, design, and architecture discuss what current technology and innovation trends exist to help reduce waste.

Fireside Chat

Dubai 9:45pm, Paris 7:45pm, NYC 1:45pm – 15 minutes session

Panel. Women in Tech, how gender parity is fostering economic growth

Dubai 10:00pm, Paris 8:00pm, NYC 2:00pm – 1 hour session

Most organizations recognize the need for gender parity on their teams, not only to drive diversity of thought, but to create equal opportunities in their local communities. Powered by Women in Tech®, this panel of female leaders discuss the ways in which gender parity in their organizations have helped their immediate bottom line, as well as secured potential in future prosperity.

Celebrity keynote

Dubai 11:00pm, Paris 9:00pm, NYC 3:00pm – 30 minutes session

Closing remarks

Dubai 11:30pm, Paris 9:30pm, NYC 3:30pm – 30 minutes session

SAVE THE DATE! 22 SEPTEMBER 2020. #MITTS2020

"A vision that anticipates the future"

The M.E.N.A. Innovation Technology Transfer Summit is under the High patronage of
His Highness Dr Sheikh Sultan Bin Mohammed Al Qasimi,
Supreme Council Member of the United Arab Emirates and Ruler of Sharjah